Mount Calvary
A Roman Catholic Parish
The Ordinariate of S. Peter

North Eutaw Street and Madison Avenue
Baltimore, Maryland

Rev. Albert Scharbach, Pastor

November 18, 2018
Trinity XXIV
10 AM Sung Mass


Missa de S. Maria Magdalena, Willan


Organ Prelude
Prelude and Fugue in G Major, BWV 557


Organ Postlude
Voluntary in G, Stanford



William Byrd 1540–1623

Vigilate, nescitis enim quando dominus domus veniat, sero, an media nocte, an gallicantu, an mane. Vigilate ergo, ne cum venerit repente, inveniat vos dormientes. Quod autem dico vobis, omnibus dico: vigilate.
Watch ye therefore (for you know not when the lord of the house cometh, at even, or at midnight, or at the cock crowing, or in the morning): Watch therefore, lest coming on a sudden, he find you sleeping. And what I say to you, I say to all: Watch.

Here are The Tallis Scholars.


Thomas Tallis (1510–1585)

Audivi vocem de caelo venientem: venite omnes virgines sapientissime; oleum recondite in vasis vestris dum sponsus advenerit. Media nocte clamor factus est: ecce sponsus venit.
I heard a voice coming from heaven: come all wisest virgins; fill your vessels with oil, for the bridegroom is coming. In the middle of the night there was a cry: behold the bridegroom comes.

Here is the New York Polyphony



Hark the glad sound (BRISTOL) is by Philip Doddridge (1702–1751), who based it on the passage of Christ’s preaching in the synagogue: ‘he hath sent me to heal the broken-hearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised, to preach the acceptable year of the Lord.’

Here is the tune on the organ.


O Jesus Christ, remember is by Edward Caswall (1814–1878), an Anglican clergyman who became a Roman Catholic and joined John Henry Newman at the Oratory in Birmingham. This hymn connects the Second Coming with Jesus’ coming in the Eucharist and His presence on the altar. NYLAND is a Finnish folk melody, also used for the hymn In heavenly love abiding.

Here is an arrangement of NYLAND.


Lo, He comes with clouds descending is by John Cennick (1718–1755) and Charles Wesley (1707–1788). The content of the text and particularly the title are derived from Rev 1:7, which tells of the Second Coming. The tune HELMSLEY is by Thomas Olivers (1725–1799), who heard the tune whistled in the street and derived his melody from music, a sequence is a short melody that is repeated at a different pitch level. In this case (“Alleluia! alleluia! alleluia!”), the melody is repeated once a step lower and then a step higher. Such repetition intensifies the text that is repeated.

Here is the choir of Lichfield Cathedral.

Leave a Comment